Executive Committee Meeting Minutes of February 10, 2006 By Conference call 2:00 pm CST

The executive committee convened by conference call at 2:00 pm CST. President Gary Wolgamott welcomed everyone. By way of roll call those present were President Gary Wolgamott; past presidents Larry Koehler and Ted Michaud; vice presidents Fred Brenner, Paul Yokley, Sister Rose Bast, Crosby Jones, Florida Institute of Technology Chapter Sigma Psi Advisor Michael Grace, and Secretary/Treasurer Kathy Roush.

The first item of business was the national convention report.

Michael Grace reported on the convention plans. He stated that Delta airlines flies into Melbourne, Fl. It is only about 3 or 4 miles to the school. He wanted to take advantage of the area biology with the field trips such as a sea turtle walk after dark. He also suggested a van shuttle to the beach. The temperature in Florida is usually 70 for the low and 80 for the high and rainy. A trip to Disney World to a park with a biology theme such as Epcot was discussed. Michael and Kathy would check in to it for group rates and a bus.

The second item of business was the approval of the executive committee meeting minutes of September 2005. The following action was taken.

Larry Koehler moved and Ted Michaud seconded the minutes of September 2005 be accepted with corrections. Motion Passed.

The third item of business was the vice presidents reports.

.....

Paul Yokley reported for the Southeast Region. The Southeast District 1 and 2 meet jointly with ASB. The meeting would be held in Gatlinburg, TN. Paul invited everyone to come to this district convention.

Jack Seilheimer reported for the Western Region. The district convention for W-1 was to be hosted by New Mexico Institute, Epsilon Chi Chapter April 14 - 15. He was pleased with their participation. The district convention for W-2 was to be hosted by Point Loma Nazarene April 29.

Sister Rose Bast reported for the NorthCentral Region. The district convention for NC-1 was to be hosted by Monmouth College, Monmouth, IL April 8. The district convention for NC-2 was to be held at Camp WaJaTo near Lyons, Kansas. And the district

convention for NC-3 was to be held Joint with Minn Academy of Science April 28-29. She had 21 reviewers help with the research grant proposals. Crosby Jones reported for the Southcentral Region. The Southcentral district 1 and 2 meet jointly at the Oklahoma Biological Field Station. The convention will be April 7.8.0 Prairie View. A & M and Fast Central Oklahoma will cohort the convention. The

7,8,9. Prairie View A & M and East Central Oklahoma will cohost the convention. They are going to have their first web page competition.

The fourth item of business was the committee reports.

Crosby Jones reported for the research grant committee. There was \$53,000 requested and \$35,000 funded. The largest grant was \$960. the smallest \$100, the average \$469.

There were 75 grants awarded and 3 not funded. There was only one faculty member that mentored 4 projects.

Sister Rose requested that guidelines for research grants be available on the web page.

Fred Brenner sent the Bertholf Award winners.

2004-2005 Bertholf Award Chi Upsilon Chapter-College of New Jersey

1st Honorable Mention Alpha Chi Edinboro University of Pennsylvania

2nd Honorable Mention Mu Omicron Columbus State University

Outstanding Chapters.

Zeta Beta Interamerican University, Alpha Delta Wheeling Jesuit University, Eta Upsilon Wagner College, Sigma Chi Prairie View A&M University, Xi Gamma College of Mount St. Joseph, Theta Omega Gannon University, Rho Kappa Widener University.

Outstanding Chapter Honorable Mention

Theta Gamma-Roger Williams University Theta Delta-Wilkes University Alpha Gamma-University of Pittsburgh Kappa Epsilon – Old Dominion University Gamma Sigma – Augustana College

Paul Yokley moved and Larry Koehler seconded that the Bertholf winners be accepted. Motion Passed.

.....

Paul Yokley reported for the Yokley Award committee. Nominations were

Yokley Outstanding Faculty Service Award 2006 Virginia Baez-Belen Terry Cluck Don Roush

Yokley Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award 2006 Gertrude Wilson 2005 Karen McMahon

Kathy Roush reported for the national office. There are 5 new schools for the executive committee to approve. They are Covenant College University of South Florida Christopher Newport University University of Texas / Kingsville University of Toledo

Ted Michaud moved and Crosby Jones seconded that the five new chapters be accepted.

.....

There were 4 new chapters installed.

Indiana State University University of the Ozarks Viterbo Unviersity University of Puerto Rico / Ponce

Chapters to be installed were

University of Louisiana/Monroe University of Texas/Arlington SUNY College at Brockport North Georgia College and State University

Chapters to the District Directors for visitation were Lander University Clemson University Saint Joseph College Kathy reported that there is a new form on the web page for registering new members. It can be attached to an email to the national office and will speed up the registration process.

The motel for the convention is the Crown Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront. The national office will make the reservations for the executive committee.

It was suggested we invite Keith Longpre to the convention.

Paul Yokley moved and Sister Rose seconded the motion to adjourn.

Respectfully Submitted, Kathy Roush