## 2018 National Convention Report, Asilomar State Park Host California State University—Monterey Bay, Phi Beta Chapter May 28 – June 3, 2018

The 2018 Beta Beta Beta National Convention was held at beautiful Asilomar State Park, hosted by California State University – Monterey Bay. The onsite convention coordinators were Dr. Aparna Sreenivasan and Dr. Nathan Jue and Asilomar State Park.

One hundred and sixty-seven delegates from 45 different colleges attended the conference. There were thirteen executive board members, four district directors, thirteen faculty advisors, one hundred and 10 students and twenty-three guests in attendance. There were 28 oral presentations divided into 4 sessions and 48 poster presentations also divided into 4 sessions. Among the students presenting, 32 students had won 1<sup>st</sup> place Brooks or Johnson Awards in their district.

We would like to thank the Faculty and students of California State University – Monterey Bay: Drs. Aparna Sreenivasan and Nathan Jue, and students Madison Heard, Victoria Assad, Madison Bashford, Sylveen Hal, Leah Martin, Melissa Meredith, Jeremiah OConnor, Alexander Ferreira, Uma Crouch, and Lysander Caceres.

The executive committee arrived at various times on Monday, May 28, 2018 and met to conduct business on Tuesday May 29, 2018.

Students and faculty began arriving at Asilomar State Park Wednesday May 30, 2018. The convention opening and welcome was delivered by Dr. Steve Ropski, National President, Theta Omega Chapter, Gannon University.

The Keynote speaker for Wednesday evening was Dr. Arlene Haffa, Associate Professor, School of Natural Sciences at SDU Monterey Bay. Dr. Susan Baxter, CSU Program for Education and Research in Biotechnology was the Keynote speaker for Thursday evening.

Thursday was Student's Day. The day began in the morning with a mid-morning break with 4 oral presentations sessions in 4 small meeting rooms. After lunch the poster presentations were held in a large meeting space, Merrill Hall.

All the meals (or box lunches for the field trips) were delicious and nutritious and prepared or served in Crocker Hall Dining Center of the State Park.

Field trip days were Friday and Saturday, where attendees had choices from the following destinations: Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row; Point Lobos and 17 Mile Drive including stops at Carmel and Pebble Beach; Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute; or Asilomar State Park Guided Birding walk. After dinner on Friday, the students were treated to a bon fire reception with S'mores and other treats.

On Saturday evening, the awards ceremony was held where the Brooks Award winners and Johnson Award winners were announced. Other awards announced were for the Traditional Scrapbook Award – 1<sup>st</sup> place Angelo State University and 2<sup>nd</sup> place Gannon University; E Scrapbook award – 1<sup>st</sup> place University of Puerto Rico-Aquadilla and 2<sup>nd</sup> place (tie) University of Puerto Rico-Cayey and University of Puerto Rico - Ponce. The Largest Delegation attending the convention was University of Puerto Rico-Aquadilla. The Most Miles Traveled was (tie) University of Puerto Rico-Cayey and University of Puerto Rico-Aquadilla.

A short business meeting was conducted after the awards ceremony. The nominations committee of the Executive Committee made the motion to elect the slate of officers for regional vice presidents and the national president. The delegates voted to approve the slate, with all the current Vice Presidents and the National President being elected for new terms. After a presentation, the 2020 national convention was approved to be held at Columbus State University-GA. The business meeting was adjourned and the 2018 National Convention was officially closed.

On behalf of the National Executive Committee, I would like to express my gratitude to everyone who presented, judged, participated and worked to make this convention a successful demonstration of the outstanding talents possessed by students and faculty associated with Beta Beta.

Respectfully Submitted,

Kathy Roush National Secretary/Treasurer